Re-Publishing historical football content digitally

The “Team of the ’60s”

By on 25 April 2014

The “Team of the ’60s” was Everton! Yes, we were surprised too! The table below shows the sum total of all English League Division one Championships played in the 1960s – from 1960/61 through to the 1969/70 season inclusive.

The interesting thing to note is that there were 7 different winners of the title; no-one successfully defended the title; and only 3, Manchester United, Liverpool and Everton managed it more than once; and no-one managed it more than 2 times. Compare that to the 5 winners in 21 seasons of the modern equivalent – the Premiership.

Individual seasons are shown below in small image size, but click on individual images to see details – even how the the mighty Ipswich Town won in 1961/62. The most stark point is the dramatic decline in goal scoring towards the end of the decade. Also, how Home advantage really showed in the earlier seasons’ results. Note that, the figures in red show the points total had 3-points for a win been in place. Interestingly, no Championship or relegation issue would have been altered, although one or two placings would have changed. (Note: there is an error in Sheffield Wednesday’s total in 1961/62 season. Should be 6 draws not 16).

This was SoccerAttic’s first attempt to come up with the “Team of the ’60s”. We’ve not taken into account other Cup competitions or Europe – nor the fact that the FA Cup shared equal, or arguably more, billing to the Championship. Also, the League Cup, especially in its early years, was not treated with the respect that it now enjoys. Indeed it was not compulsory to enter the competition until the 1971/72 season. Everton were the last major team to decline to take part in 70/71, as they wanted to concentrate on their European Cup campaign.

So if you have any thoughts as to how to incorporate other competitions in our assessment of the “Team of the ’60s”, we’d like to here from you. Use the contact form.

Summary of 10 Seasons - English First Division

Summary of 10 Seasons – English First Division

14-04-25 League Tables 69-70

Season 69/70 – Champions – Everton

14-04-25 League Tables 68-69

Season 68/69 – Champions – Leeds United







14-04-25 League Tables 67-68

Season 67/68 – Champions – Manchester City

14-04-25 League Tables 66-67

Season 66/67 – Champions – Manchester United







14-04-25 League Tables 65-66

Season 65/66 – Champions – Liverpool

14-04-25 League Tables 64-65

Season 64-65 – Champions – Manchester United







14-04-25 League Tables 63-64

Season 63/64 – Champions – Liverpool

14-04-25 League Tables 62-63

Season 62/63 – Champions – Everton







14-04-25 League Tables 61-62

Season 61/62 – Champions – Ipswich Town

14-04-25 League Tables 60-61

Season 60/61 – Champions – Tottenham Hotspur